One of my favorite podcasts to listen to is The Liturgists. They discuss relevant “topics through the lenses of science, art and faith” (theliturgists.com). Recently, during the first of a three-part series on suffering, they introduced Charity: water, a non-profit organization that provides clean water solutions to people in developing countries. The Liturgists challenged their listeners to give up their birthday to raise money for the charity.

Did you know that 663 million people do not have access to clean water (Charity: water)? I didn’t. Clean water is one of the most basic needs for humans; everyone should have access to clean water.

I challenge you to join me in giving up your birthday this year to provide clean water to people who desperately need it. I don’t know about you, but I have enough stuff.

Go here to donate to my birthday water fund or set up your own: Water for My Birthday.

Shalom,

Elizabeth

 

