Newsworthy with Norsworthy Podcast: Reconstruction: Brian Zahnd and Paul Nevison

My thoughts on this podcast:

Life is about growing and changing, and our Christian life is no different. Growth is a hallmark of life. If your faith isn’t growing and maturing, you’d better check its pulse.

On the other hand, if you are terrified of how your faith is changing and growing, of how some questions are just eating at you, know that this is perfectly normal. We are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses that have traveled this path before us.

The three phases of our faith are often referred to as construction, deconstruction and reconstruction. Many Christians are stuck in the initial phase of their faith. It is alright to believe childish things when you are a child, but as you grow you must put childish things behind you (1 Corinthians 13:11). So too, our faith must grow and mature.

It can be just as easy to become stuck in the second phase of faith as well: deconstruction. It is necessary to tear down old walls to make room for the new, but we cannot become stalled forever in the phase of deconstruction. Deconstruction is necessary for a healthy faith, but we must continually move toward the final phase of reconstruction.

If you are ready to continue moving forward in your faith, this podcast may be for you.

Shalom,

Elizabeth

“I am participating in this great conversation about God revealed in Christ that has been going on for 2000 years. I feel so privileged that I can be a part of this.” -Brian Zahnd
“I had grown terribly just content with the Christianity I knew. Never disillusioned with Jesus; it was never a crisis of faith in that sense. I just was deeply persuaded that somehow Jesus warranted a much deeper, better, more substantive Christianity than I knew.” -Brian Zahnd
“I think that’s a major staple of reconstruction. This sense of I’m not trying to differentiate myself from others as much as I’m trying to orient myself in a way of community and embracing others….The first half of life we are always identifying ourselves by who we are by what we’re against and what separates us. The second half is embracing the commonality and humanity in all of us.”  -Luke Norsworthy
The rituals “aren’t the thing, but they point us toward the thing.” -Paul Nevison
