When was the last time you examined your beliefs? Some of you are thinking, “That’s the whole problem; I can’t stop examining my beliefs!” Others of you are thinking, “What do I need to examine my beliefs for? I know what I believe!”

This year, in the weeks leading up to Easter, I am taking Peter Rollins’ Atheism for Lent course. The purpose of the course is to allow the great atheist scholars to critique our faith (not convert to atheism). We all want a strong, healthy faith, and a hallmark of a healthy faith is one that can stand up to critique. If what you believe is true, then it will stand up to examination. If aspects of it are not true, you will only discover that upon examination.

If you balk at the idea of questioning or doubting anything you believe, you need to ask yourself why. What are you afraid of? It is not doubt that is the enemy of faith; the enemy of faith is certainty. Again, if what you believe is true, no amount of examination would prove it false.

Why do athletes have coaches? Is it merely to have someone on the sidelines cheering them on? No, of course not. Athletes have coaches to critique them and point out the flaws that the athlete may not see on their own. A coach is not there to make the athlete feel good about their performance, but to help them discover what they can do better.

This is why I am doing Atheism for Lent. I need someone outside the faith to critique my faith. Not so that I can prove it false, but rather to shore-up my foundations and make my beliefs even stronger. I want to know that what I believe is true. I want to know that my beliefs are such because I actually believe them, not because I refuse to look at them.

Shalom,

Elizabeth

Resources:

PeterRollins.com: Atheism for Lent

RobCast: Peter Rollins on Atheism for Lent

Atheism for Lent: A Welcome, an Introduction and an Orientation

 

